Rabbit Holes & Where to Find Them

For many people, life’s journey takes us down many paths.  Of those paths, some are well lit and easy to follow…  But not all!  Some of those paths can turn dark very quickly and before you know it?  We seem lost, confused, overwhelmed, stressed, depressed and afraid.  The trouble with ending up on these paths is that we do not always realize we are on them.  Sometimes our focus on the journey acts like a desert mirage, but in reverse.  In this scenario, we do not see the things that are actually right in front of us.  This is what has happened to me over the past 6 months.  During this time, I had slowly walked down a path that grew darker.  Before I knew it, I had become someone that was not recognized as the true me.  The worst part is, I wasn’t the one who had realized it…

I had recently told a friend that I must remember that “just because I wear a Superman t-shirt, it doesn’t make me Superman.”  The journeys and lesson in my life had given me the gift and the curse of putting the world upon my shoulders.  Why do I do it?  Because I care.  The cure is simple, right?  Just stop caring so much.  That unfortunately, is easier said than done!  This is part of my self-destructive nature.  My life’s journey has taught to be the dependable one, the strong one, the “Superman.”  But every Superman has his kryptonite.  There comes a point when even the strongest, most determined people need help.  For those who do not recognize their need for help… Such is the start of their potential journey down the rabbit hole.  That is how mine had begun.  For the past 6-7 months I had absorbed one challenge after another.  Trouble is with absorbing those challenges, I was not doing anything for myself.  The mirage before was one that displayed my life as still being unchanged, unaffected by my adding responsibilities.  Without even know it, I had spread myself and my time so thin…  I had nothing of myself left to offer myself.

Recently that has changed.  The love of my life had pointed out some things about me that had changed and that had her worried.  My first reaction was the standard, “no, I’m ok…  Just a bit tired.”  I never stopped to think, why am I so tired?  Until recently, I had gotten worse before getting better.  It wasn’t until I had spoken with someone about what had been going on the past 6-7 months.  As I spoke, it hit me…  I had unknowingly taken so much upon my shoulders and did little to nothing to help alleviate that weight.  When I heard myself talk loud, I realized just how much I had going on in my life.  I wondered how I didn’t end up there sooner?  Thankfully, there is change in the winds!  Things have become more clear, without the need for my x-ray vision, LoL!  I have realized that I am not Superman.  More so, I am just a man trying to be SUPER for the people close to him and those in the world around him.

The message I want to convey is this…  Without a balance in our lives, it is easy to steer away from the path known as ourselves.  Having the super power of self-realization can help keep us on the path we need to be on, the one that is balanced.  In the real world, we need to be more human to be than super human.

P6260015.JPG

The piece you see above is my official first work.  This is an overpainted photograph.  This describes the view from inside my personal rabbit hole.  Please feel free to comment/critique my work.  I am happy to read all of your thoughts!  Take care always!

 

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/jangle/”>Jangle</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “Rabbit Holes & Where to Find Them

  1. I like the artwork! And your words are really touching, too! I hope that things are getting better and better for you. I really do. Thank you for putting up the post and writing about your experience – you never know whom this might help. But most importantly, I guess it does help YOU to write about it and reflect upon it. It’s wonderful to read such a heartfelt and honest post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Greeting to my fav WP author! 🙂 It is always nice to hear (read) from you! Things here have been moving in a better direction as of late. It is nice to write again and if it helps just one other person… It makes it all that much nicer! The art work is something I been dabbling in, that is my GF ‘s influence. LoL! I have thought about mirroring some of my poems with my artwork. I have been kicking around ideas for the poem “Hide Me.” We will see though… I hope your days & nights are filled with all you desire! Take care until next time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for your kind words! I am happy to hear that you are getting better. And yes, reading such honest posts seriously helps the reader not to feel so alone. If you started enjoying art, that’s even for the better. You never know where that might lead to! I wish you all the best on your way and would love to hear from you every now and then. I’ll be stopping by on here at times even if I currently don’t post anything…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

